top of page

What Brand Best Represents You and Why?

What brand best represents you and why?

LuluLemon was founded by Chip Wilson; an avid surfer and skier who, after taking his first yoga class, was convinced it was the next trend in recreational activity. Their product was the love child of yoga teachers’ insights and high quality materials. From its inception Lulu Lemon was more than a clothing store, it was a movement. The reason I identify with their brand is two fold. Firstly, I am an active person. I was a competitive dancer from ages 4-16, I practice yoga, hike, swim, run and dabble in intramurals. It will come as no surprise that I am a loyal wearer of their products.

The second reason I identify with Lululemon is because of their strategy. Lululemon was the pioneer of new marketing movement: They didn’t bombard their consumer. Instead of identifying a target market and trying to appeal to that consumer, they created an ideal lifestyle that consumers aspired to live and for the first time that lifestyle didn’t revolve around making more money, being more successful, or having more things. The brand was synonymous with clean living and created a wave of accessible (and profitable) spiritual awakening for the every day consumer. They allowed the quality and identity of their brand to stand on it’s own, never trying to sell you on their product or to compare themselves to the competition. I read a great article that talked about how a brand should be like a friend. It should aim to add value to a person’s life, never push for an inorganic connection, and grow and change with the person. These are principles I intend to live by as a marketer and I believe Lululemon embodies them perfectly.


bottom of page